top of page
Tipple hi-res small.jpg


Tipple is the 3rd solo release by Jon Hyde. It was recorded at Hyde's J-Tel studio and mixed by the excellent Tucker Martine (Decemberists, Laura Veirs). Tipple continues in the direction of the path laid out on the 2004 Blair EP and 2000's Yellow Light CD. Expect to find here, melody above all, lyrics that don't give it all away on the 1st listen and varied arrangements. 

The band:

Jon Hyde - vocal, guitar, pedal steel, bass, drums, piano, organ, etc.

Bruce Wirth - organ, electric piano, lap steel

Caben Buswell - vocal, bass

Eric Eagle - vocal, drums


Distinguished guests: Steve Moore - electric piano, trombone, Hans Teuber - clarinet, Tony Moore - trumpet, Fred Chalinor - upright bass, and Tucker Martine - drums, percussion

" Reminiscent of Dylan, Petty, and Uncle Tupelo, Hyde provides alt-country rock twang, laden with wordplay and lyrics of slow despair and cautious hope... It's a reverent reality rendered through magnificent music. "  - David Legry, HEARmusic

" Jon Hyde's near-perfect pop sensibility and melancholy lyrics are blended with a subtle sense of humor, giving the impression he is smiling behind the music. Folk-rock and alt-country are just a few of the classifications for Hyde's music, but most important is the strong attention to melody, lyrics and arrangement. "  - Bumbershoot Festival 


Originally released on Conjunctive Records March 14, 2007

Available at the Drums & Wires BandCamp store for streaming and digital download in MP3, FLAC, ALAC (Apple Lossless), AAC, Ogg Vorbis, WAV and AIFF formats.

You might also like

bottom of page